Akureyri Museum

Akureyri Museum

The Museum offers two exhibitions depicting the history of the fjord from settlement to modern times: “Eyjafjörður from Early Times” and “Akureyri – the Town on the Bay”. Many interesting and unique artefacts can be found in the exhibitions relating to the Viking period, the middle ages, religion and everyday life. The summer exhibition Elves and hidden people, offers an exciting journey through their veiled world through a combination of art, artefacts from the National Museum and the traditional folklore as it manifests itself in Eyjafjörður.

The surrounding museum garden is an idyllic picnic spot and the 19th century church is well worth a visit.

Opening Hours and Admission:

1. June – 15. Sept.: 10 am – 5 pm.
Winter hours: Sat.: 2 pm – 4 pm or by appointment
Admission (17+) ISK 800
Groups 10+ ISK 640

Address:

Aðalstræti 58, 600 Akureyri
Tel.+354 462 4162
minjasafnid@minjasafnid.is
www.akmus.is

Bus nr. 1 & 4

The Old Farmhouse Laufás

Laufás is mentioned in historical records soon after the settlement of Iceland (874-930) and since the earliest period of Christianity a church has been located there. The existing church was built in 1865 and among its special items is a pulpit from 1698.
The farmhouse was rebuilt in an ambitious style in 1853-1882 and is an example of the gabled farmhouse, although significantly larger than the ordinary Icelandic farmhouse of the time. The Laufás farmhouse is furnished with household items and utensils from the period.  One of Laufás´s characteristics is the bride´s chamber where brides prepared themselves for the big event.
A souvenir shop and restaurant, offering traditional Icelandic cuisine, is located at the service centre. The Farm bristles with life on special working days.

Opening Hours and Admission:

30. May – 12. Sept.: 9 am – 6 pm. Winter hours: by appointment
Admission (17+) 700 kr.
Groups 10+ 560

Sigurhæðir – memorial museum

Sigurhæðir (Hills of Triumph) is an exhibition dedicated to the reverend and poet Matthías Jochumsson (1835-1920), one of Iceland’s most loved writer and poet. One of his achievement is the national anthem. Matthías had the house built in 1903 and lived there until the end of his life.

Opening Hours and Admission:

Open weekdays from 1. June-31. August from 13-17.
Admission (17+) 700 kr.
Groups 10+ 560

Davíð Stefánsson Memorial Museum

In the green hills of Akureyri overlooking the Municipal Library lays a house with an exciting history and a unique atmosphere of the 60’s. Built in 1944 by one of Iceland’s most loved poet and writer, Davíð Stefánsson, who lived there until he died in 1964. Davíð had a taste for the finer things in life and was an enthusiastic collector of art and books. His apartment is a testament to his taste, full of books, art collection and other personal articles, just as he left them in 1964. It is almost as if he is returning in a few minutes.

Opening Hours and Admission:

Open weekdays from 1. June-31. August from 13-17.
Admission (17+) 700 kr.
Groups 10+ 560

Nonnahús

Nonnahús (Nonni's House) is also a part of Akureyri Museum. 
 


Contact Information

Certified

  • Certified

Address

Akureyri Museum
Aðalstræti 58,
600 Akureyri
the North
Popup a Map Related tags

Print Download vCard



Akureyri Museum Branches

  1. Gamli bærinn



Wall of Ideas